The Catholic Diocese of Homa Bay

The Catholic Diocese of Homa Bay (CDoHB) was created on October 18, 1993.

Did you know?

The Catholic Diocese of Homa Bay had 19 parishes when the Diocese was created in the year 1993.
Currently the Diocese has a total of 38 parishes and 6 deaneries

The Diocese forms part of the Metropolitan See of Kisumu, Kenya, and borders Ngong’ diocese, Kisii diocese, and Kisumu Archdiocese. It was curved from the Catholic Diocese of Kisii.

Diocese intendeds over approximately 7,778 sq km (3,004 Square Miles) with a population of about 2.3 Million people.  The Catholic faithful form a third of the largely Christians population.

Homa bay diocese has a metropolitan population spread from the shore of Lake Victoria, Winam Gulf, and extends along the eastern borders of Tanzania. This stretch covers both Homa Bay and Migori counties.


Contact Us

The Catholic Diocese of Homa Bay
P.O. Box 326, 40300
Homa Bay, Kenya
Mobile: +254 721 375547

Take a tour

  • CONNECT with your diocese
  • KNOW your diocese
  • ENGAGE with your diocese
  • BUILD your diocese
  • and Arise and Evangelize

Mission Statement

A Catholic community growing together in Faith, Hope and Charity